Hinsdale County OHV Pilot Program 2022


Lake City – Hinsdale County OHV Regulations

All OHV use on Lake City and Hinsdale County roads must comply with the Colorado State statues pertaining to motor vehicles and follow posted speed limits.

All OHV’s operators and or passengers must meet the following requirements:

  • MUST have a current Colorado OHV permit. Note: Colorado does not recognize permits from other states.
  • Operators must have a valid driver’s license in their possession
  • Must have proof of current OHV liability insurance.
  • Required to wear a restraint/seatbelt if: the OHV manufacturer originally incorporated restraint or child car seats. Child car seats and restraints must be used in accordance with Colorado motor vehicle laws CRS 42-4-236.
  • Under 18yrs must wear a DOT approved helmet unless in a child seat or age-appropriate restraint. Child helmet exception is applicable ONLY for OHV’s designed and manufactured to support a child seat.
  • Required to have proper eye protection (glasses, sunglasses, goggles, etc.) OHVs with windshields do satisfy this requirement.
  • May not carry more passengers than designated by the manufacturer. All passengers must be seated in designated seating per manufacturer specifications.
  • It is unlawful to operate any vehicle off: designated streets, roads, highways or trails.

From May 27, 2022 until September 30, 2022, OHVs are allowed on State Highway 149 from the County Road 30 intersection south of town, to the Oceanwave Drive intersection ONLY. OHVs are NEVER allowed to travel on Hwy 149 past CR 30 to the south, or past the Lake City Bakery within the Town of Lake City.

Fines may be assessed from $75, not to exceed $1000

Realtor, Equal Housing, MLS